Published: Wed, July 11, 2018
Culture&Arts | By Laurence Reese

'The English Patient' voted best Man Booker Prize winner

'The English Patient' voted best Man Booker Prize winner

Sri Lanka-born Canadian literary icon Michael Ondaatje's "The English Patient" has won the special one-off Golden Man Booker Prize to mark the 50th anniversary of the prestigious literary award here.

The 50th anniversary of the prize is being magnified globally with Man Booker author events at global literary festivals across the world. The English Patient shared the Man Booker Prize with Sacred Hunger by Barry Unsworth.

"The English Patient" is a tale of love and conflict during World War II.

The other finalists were In A Free State by V S Naipaul for the 70s, Moon Tiger by Penelope Lively for the 80s, Wolf Hall by Hilary Mantel for the 2000s and Lincoln In The Bardo by George Saunders for the 2010s.

More news: Cristiano Ronaldo leaving Real Madrid to join Italian club Juventus

A panel of judges selected five books from among the 51 winners of the Booker, a prize that has boosted the careers of writers such as Ian McEwan, Arundhati Roy and Kazuo Ishiguro.

Ondaatje said he did not believe "for a second" that his book was the best.

"I am honoured as well as very surprised to receive this award for The English Patient, as I was to be in the company of the other remarkable nominees", said Ondaatje in a statement from his publisher, Penguin Random House.

"It's intricately (and rewardingly) structured, beautifully written, with great humanity written into every page", Shamsie said."Ondaatje's imagination acknowledges no borders as it moves between Cairo, Italy, India, England, Canada - and between deserts and villas and bomb craters".

More news: Kepler Space Telescope Is Preparing For Its Last Trip In Space

"Few novels really deserve the praise: transformative. As we celebrate the 50th anniversary of the prize, it demonstrates the impact and legacy of the man Booker prize, because all the winning books are still pechatayutsya", said Fund Chairman of the Booker prize Baroness Helena Kennedy. Ondaatje's "The English Patient" also won a Governor General's Literary Award.

Baroness Helena Kennedy, Chair of the Booker Prize Foundation, added: "It is a compelling work of fiction – both poetic and philosophical – and is a worthy victor of the Golden Man Booker".

Two of the five books nominated were published by Bloomsbury, which will be hoping for related sales boost.

More news: Recently-crowned World's Ugliest Dog dies

Like this: