Published: Thu, May 17, 2018
Sports | By Brooke Harris

Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur to lead in T20-style tie

Smriti Mandhana, Harmanpreet Kaur to lead in T20-style tie

The Board of Control for Cricket in India announced the squads for the Women's T20 Challenge match, which is scheduled to be played before the first Qualifier of the 2018 Indian Premier League at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on May 22.

Attacking batter and India Women's T20 vice-captain, Smriti Mandhanawill lead IPL Trailblazers.

More news: United States deal boosts Ocado's stock market value above £5bn

The T20 match will feature 26 players including 10 global stars from England, Australia and New Zealand.

IPL Supernova: Harmanpreet Kaur (captain), Danielle Wyatt, Mithali Raj, Meg Lanning, Sophie Devine, Ellyse Perry, Veda Krishnamurthy, Mona Meshram, Pooja Vastrakar, Megan Schutt, Rajseshwari Gayakwad, Anuja Patil, Taniya Bhatia (wicket-keeper). The worldwide stars in the camp include Australia's Alyssa Healy and Beth Mooney along with New Zealand all-rounder Suzie Bates.

More news: Tejashwi to stake claim to form government in Bihar

It also comprises Indian cricketers of the calibre of Mandhana, the southpaw opener and captain of the side, Deepti Sharma, the spinning all-rounder, Jhulan Goswami, the India pace spearhead and the young prodigy, Jemimah Rodrigues. It is understood that the match will follow IPL-style rules.

Speaking about this T20 Challenge game, Rajeev Shukla, Chairman, IPL, said, "Even as IPL continues to roll like a well-oiled machine, over the last couple of weeks, efforts were made to put in place a similar structure for women cricketers". CoA chief Vinod Rai was quoted as saying by The Indian Express on May 12 (Saturday).

More news: Youtube will start crediting musicians properly in their videos

Like this: