Published: Thu, May 17, 2018
Sports | By Brooke Harris

Karolina Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair With Racket After Loss

Karolina Pliskova Hits Umpire's Chair With Racket After Loss

The world number six had a number of run-ins with Mrozinska during the heated encounter and now faces a heavy fine from the WTA.

Her most recent triumph came at the Stuttgart Open, where she defeated the American Coco Vandeweghe in straight sets 7-6, 6-4, but she didn't have the same kind of success earlier today in her Italian Open Round of 32 clash with Greek Maria Sakkari.

At 5-5 in the third, Pliskova got engaged in a lengthy argument after she had an overhead smash called out.

More news: WWE Superstar Ronda Rousey May Be Pregnant 'Someday Soon'

After both women met each other at the net, Pliskova refused to shake the umpire's hands before bashing a noticeable hole in the umpire's chair as the crowd and Sakkari watched on in shock. The victory means the 24-year-old Gavrilova recorded her first top 10 victory of the year, and her first back-to-back match wins since Acapulco in February.

But to her astonishment, umpire Marta Mrozinska and the line judge called the ball out.

The Czech went on to lose that game and the match 3-6, 6-3, 7-5 in two hours 21 minutes.

More news: Kellogg Is Shutting Down Operations in Venezuela Amid the Economic Crisis

But the drama didn't end there - after the players shook hands, Pliskova then took a number of big swings with her racquet against the umpire's chair, taking a chunk out of its side.

Pliskova's twin sister Kristyna, who also ranks in the world's top 100, slammed Mrozinska on social media.

More news: Golf Program Receives Academic Honor

Like this: