Published: Tue, May 15, 2018
Business | By Kate Woods

Karnataka results today: Will it become another Goa or Manipur?

Karnataka results today: Will it become another Goa or Manipur?

Chief Minister Siddaramaiah is now trailing from Chamundeshwari seat. Elections in Bengaluru's constituencies - Jayanagar and Rajarajeshwari Nagar - were postponed.

India TV-VMR exit poll has predicted hung assembly in Karnataka.

With counting nearly over, the BJP is looking to end up with 105 seats, while the Congress Party is set to win 76 and the JD (S) 39.

More news: Jose Mourinho hopes to face outgoing assistant Rui Faria in the future

Kumar said a 55-year-old official on election duty died of a heart attack, while a 58-year-old woman tried to immolate herself by dousing herself with kerosene at Devagiri in Haveri district, but was saved by officials present at the spot.

BJP fielded 223 candidates while Congress and the Janata Dal (Secular) fielded 222 and 201 candidates respectively.

In a similar incident, the Income Tax (IT) Department conducted raids at a resort in Badami on May 8, where the Congress leaders had been lodging for campaigning purposes. Congress is leading on 67 seats, while JD (S)+ has moved up to lead on 25 seats. The BJP, not giving up, has sent BS Yeddyurappa, the party's presumptive chief minister, and union minister Ananth Kumar to meet the governor to seek time to form the government being the single largest party.

More news: Xiaomi Redmi S2 To Launch In India On June 7th

Chief minister Siddaramaiah, who could be the biggest stumbling block in this alliance, has already dropped hints that he will step aside for a dalit CM if the party so decides. The India Today-Axis exit poll said the Congress would be the single largest party. None of the parties got the magic number of 21. It has given 73-82 seats to Congress, 32-43 seats to JD (S) and 2-3 seats to others.

According to Times Now-VMR exit poll, the Congress is likely to be the single largest party with 90-103 seats, the BJP second largest party with 80-93 seats. It said that the JD (S) will win 30-39 seats and others 2-4 seats.

The BJP won 38 of the Lingayat dominated seats, while the Congress won 19.

More news: World Bank denies reports that Nawaz Sharif laundered $4.9 billion to India

Like this: