Published: Tue, May 15, 2018
Sports | By Brooke Harris

Germany Announce Provisional World Cup Squad, 7 Stars Snubbed

Germany Announce Provisional World Cup Squad, 7 Stars Snubbed

Liverpool midfielder Emre Can and Borussia Dortmund's Mario Gotze have been left out of Germany's preliminary 35-man squad for this summer's World Cup in Russian Federation.

Meanwhile, earlier this week the shot-stopper expressed cautious optimism about his chances of going to the global showpiece in Russian Federation, saying: "It's going well and I'm feeling good, but I have to make the right decision for me, the team and Germany".

Meanwhile, Gotze, who scored the extra-time victor in the final against Argentina four years ago, was not included in Germany's 27-man preliminary squad.

Heynckes revealed that Neuer is recovering well from the second metatarsal break he suffered previous year, as he has been able to perform most of the training drills asked of him at the club's training ground.

More news: British rugby player dies in Sri Lanka after visiting nightclub

"We will be open and honest after the training camp, and without match practice, you can't go into a tournament".

"But right now, things look good".

However, there was no place in the squad for Arsenal defender Shkodran Mustafi, who was part of the World Cup-winning squad in 2014 and has 20 global caps. Sandro Wagner, though, misses out, despite an impressive season at Bayern Munich and the 30-year-old has scored 15 goals and provided six assists in 34 appearances for the Bavarian giants thus far this term, and has also netted five goals for Germany in just eight caps.

"We had to make a decision, and it was made in favour of Gomez and Petersen", Low said.

More news: David Tepper expected to become next Panthers owner

Borussia Dortmund forward Marco Reus is included after missing both the 2014 World Cup and Euro 2016 through injury.

Despite Wagner's absence, Bayern are still represented by seven players - Neuer, Mats Hummels, Jerome Boateng, Joshua Kimmich, Niklas Sule, Thomas Muller and Sebastian Rudy.

It contains four Premier League players - Leroy Sane and Ilkay Gundogan of Manchester City, Chelsea's Antonio Rudiger and Mesut Ozil of Arsenal.

Loew has included the Bayern Munich goalkeeper in his provisional squad, along with Barcelona's Marc-Andre ter Stegen, Bayer Leverkusen's Bernd Leno and PSG stopper Kevin Trapp. They will also play Sweden and South Korea as part of Group F.

More news: Chuck Liddell Confirms He's Returning To MMA, Tito Ortiz Responds

Like this: