Published: Mon, April 16, 2018
Global | By Marsha Munoz

Karnataka assembly polls: BJP releases second list of 82 candidates

"People of north Karnataka had requested me to contest from Badami".

Veeranna Charantimatt will challenge Congress' Hullappa Yamanappa Meti at Bagalkot in Uttar Kannada.

JD (S) earlier had got the support of TRS, the ruling party of Telangana with CM K Chandrasekhar Rao advocating the need for a non-Congress/ BJP Third Front made up of regional parties.

More news: Celtic into Scottish Cup final, on course for another treble

Former Union Railways Minister K.H. Muniyappa's daughter Roopa Shridar has been given ticket from Kolar Gold Fields, a constituency where Congress has not won in over four decades. He will take on DG Shanthanagouda of the Congress.

On Sunday, the Congress announced a list of 218 candidates for the Assembly elections due in Karnataka on May 12. The list included 48 sitting or outgoing legislators from the state's northern, central and southern regions.

Numerous 154 candidates declared in the first two lists were ministers & MLAs when BJP won Karnataka in 2008, but also face criminal & corruption charges.

More news: Brighton boss Chris Hughton says all three Crystal Palace goals avoidable

Only three women were among the 72 - Sashikala Jolle from Nippani, Roopali Naik from Karwar and Poornima Srinivas from Hiriyur.

The party list which was expected to come out on Friday itself, was delayed reportedly due to the tussle among senior leaders - CM Siddharamaiah, KPCC President Dr. G. Parameshwara, Congress leader in Lok Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge and MP and former CM Veerappa Moily.

Dr. Mahadevappa, who wanted to contest from C.V. Raman Nagar (SC) seat in Bengaluru and leave his home Constituency T.Narasipur to his son Sunil Bose, will now himself has to contest from T.Narasipur, as the party High Command turned down his demand. Among the seats for which the party is yet to announce candidates is Varuna, for which Yeddyurappa's son B Y Vijayendra is seen as a strong contender.

More news: Man held for indulging in obscene act at woman's doorstep

In addition, candidates for Sindgi, Nagthan, Melukote, Kittur, Raichur and Shantinagar assembly seats have not been decided yet.

Like this: