Published: Wed, March 14, 2018
Sports | By Brooke Harris

Woods and Els set to be named captains for 2019 Presidents Cup

Woods and Els set to be named captains for 2019 Presidents Cup

Tiger Woods will be named the US team's captain for the 2019 Presidents Cup in Melbourne, Australia, according to a report by Alex Miceli of the Morning Read, who cited sources.

Now, they'll meet again in 2019 as captains for the matches in Melbourne, Australia, according to an Associated Press report. They spoke on condition of anonymity because it has not been announced.

More news: Matt Damon, Ben Affleck's Production Company to Adopt Inclusion Rider

Former world number one Woods and South African star Els have a long history in the event, including a famous 2003 duel where they competed in a sudden-death playoff that ended in a tie and saw the trophy shared. After three extra holes between the two nominated players failed to break the deadlock, and with daylight fading fast, team captains Jack Nicklaus and Gary Player agreed to share the cup. The International team's only victory was in 1998 at Royal Melbourne.

"Today marks the start of a two-year program of events and activities by the U.S. PGA TOUR's Australian operations, who along with the Victorian Government, host clubs and other golf organisations will work together to grow the game and cement Victoria as Australia's home of golf". One of the birdies was a 44-foot putt he rolled in at the 17th to move within a shot of the lead with a hole to play, drawing a thunderous roar from the crowd.

More news: Marcus Rashford: Jose Mourinho's Man Utd training is where I'm learning most

They also have battled plenty in tournaments.

Four-time major victor Els has finished runner-up to Woods seven times, including twice in the majors. That includes twice in the majors, though Woods won those by 15 shots (2000 U.S. Open) and eight shots (2000 British Open).

More news: Trump's Personal Assistant Fired Over Security Issue

The 2019 Presidents Cup will be the 13th match in the competition's history. The Presidents Cup has been reduced to 30 matches over four days, and the format is not likely to change for the next one. Additionally, the top eight players for the global and U.S. Team standings will officially qualify following the completion of the 2019 PGA TOUR Championship. Hale Irwin is the only playing captain in the Presidents Cup, at the inaugural matches in 1994.

Like this: