Published: Tue, March 13, 2018
Global | By Marsha Munoz

Rajya Sabha poll: Dharmendra Pradhan files nomination from Madhya Pradesh

Rajya Sabha poll: Dharmendra Pradhan files nomination from Madhya Pradesh

Meanwhile, finally Narayan Rane, former chief minister and president of Maharashtra Swabhimani Party (BJP) agreed to go to Delhi in Rajya Sabha.

BJP has nominated Rajeev Chandrashekar, who was an independent Rajya Sabha member and joined the party today, and the JDS, B M Farooq. Rane is a BJP candidate and the Congress has fielded Ketkar.

In Uttar Pradesh, Ashok Bajpai, one of the founding members of the Samajwadi Party who left to join the BJP a year ago, has been fielded as a candidate.

A source close to Valera said 10 MLAs of the Congress have signed his nomination papers.

More news: Big Match Focus: Manchester United v Sevilla

Minutes later, Vishnoi and Sonkar arrived to file their nomination papers as BJP candidates. The BJP had nominated sitting Rajya Sabha MPs and Union Ministers Parshottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandaviya. Surprisingly, BJP leader and former minister Kiritsinh Rana too arrived with the saffron party's mandate.

Rana and Valera also filed their nominations during the last half-an-hour allotted for the goal. However the party chose to filed Vijaya Rahatkar, the fourth candidate. The matter was reported to the high command by some former BJP MPs and the Central leadership while taking the development seriously, had shown its disapproval.

The last date for withdrawal of candidature is 15 March.

Congress can win only one seat from Maharashtra as the party has 42 members in the state assembly and the quota to win the seat is also 42.

More news: Russia Says it Test-Fired a Hypersonic Missile

For a candidate to win, 37 first preference votes are required. The term of four members of the Upper House - Rajeev Chandrashekar (Independent), Rahman Khan (Congress) and Basavaraj Patil Sedam and R. Ramakrishna (both BJP) will end on April 2, 2018.

"There is infighting in the Congress and they are confused about their candidates". However, Congress leaders rubbished it as a rumour and reiterated that the tribal leader would arrive to file his nomination.

The Sena is a major alliance partner of the BJP in Maharashtra and the party is in no mood to upset the Sena and any "possible" alliance in the 2019 general elections.

Senior Congress leader Ahmed Patel won the Rajya Sabha election from Gujarat in August previous year by a narrow margin.

More news: Injuries taking toll on new-look Cleveland Cavaliers

Asked if he saw any prospects of his entry into the Union Council of Ministers, Muraleedharan denied such a possibility.

Like this: